News‎ > ‎

Masita GAA All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Niall McInerney Cup Final Preview

posted 27 Nov 2014, 03:48 by Post Primary   [ updated 27 Nov 2014, 03:49 ]

Masita GAA All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Niall McInerney Cup Final

Good Counsel, New Ross (Wexford) v Midleton CBS (Cork), Carriganore, Waterford IT Campus, 2pm

Less than seven months after being denied by their Kilkenny brethren, Midleton CBS return to Waterford this Saturday for another Masita Niall McInerney Cup Final decider.

Losing out by a goal in a tightly contested final on the last occasion, the back-to-back Munster champions will be hopeful of going one step further this time around. With ten of last year’s panel still eligible, the experience of last year’s All-Ireland series, coupled with some narrow victories en route to claiming a second Dean Ryan title in succession, will stand to the Cork men against Leinster’s representatives, Good Counsel College, New Ross.

The rebels are led by Daire Crotty who played a captain’s part in their narrow provincial final victory over Our Lady’s Templemore, while they will look to chief goal getters Chris Power and Andrew Leahy to take the game to the Wexford men in the forwards.

Last Spring brings more pleasant memories (and omens) for Good Counsel College who claimed the All-Ireland Post Primary Schools football title at the same age grade (u-16 ½) with victory also coming at the expense of Cork opposition (Rochestown College).

Overcoming Presentation Athenry in the Semi-Final by a goal, they too are battle hardened for what promises to be an exciting final having defeated Kilkenny CBS, St.Kierans and county rivals St.Peter’s in Leinster. Mentor Declan Wall is also also currently manager of recent Kilkenny Intermediate Champions and Leinster Champions, Mullinavat.
The famous New Ross nursery enjoys a catchment area which includes Wexford and south Kilkenny with notable past pupils including Kieran Joyce, Walter Walsh, Jack Guiney and Matthew O’Hanlon. Midleton CBS also have a proud tradition and can count Conor Lehane, Donal Óg Cusack and Brian Corcoran among their alumni.

Tradition and history will be put to one side at 2pm on Saturday in Carriganore (WIT Sports Campus) however with both sides fancying their chances of claiming a historic win in what promises to be a fantastic opportunity to watch some of the stars of the future in action.


Follow @PostPrimaryGAA for updates on all Masita GAA All-Ireland Post Primary School Championships.

Admission Prices

Adults - €10
OAPs/Students/Post Primary Student - €3
U-12s – Free of charge

About the Trophy

Niall McInerney Cup Corn Niall Mhic an Airchinnigh

Niall McInerney is widely regarded as one of Galway's greatest-ever hurlers winning an All-Ireland in 1980 and two All-Stars. At schools level he was involved in coaching the Galway vocational schools' hurlers to a remarkable sixteen All-Ireland titles, including a record eight-in-a-row. He also helped Moneenageisha Vocational School to two All-Ireland titles. McInerney later served as a selector with the Galway senior team. This year will see the tenth anniversary of his death.